EN AR ZH

土耳其房地产和税

Created : 23 December 2013

土耳其的所得税负债取决于居民身份。 如果您被视为土耳其居民,那么您将有责任在土耳其缴纳所得税。 如果您不是土耳其居民,那么您无需承担在土耳其缴税的责任,但不包括土耳其所得收益的税金,例如房地产税(见下文)。

外国公民在土耳其应缴纳所得税吗?


这将再次取决于外国国民的居住身份。
 因此,以下规则适用

  1. Should you pay tax in Turkey?如果一个外国人在土耳其被视为税收居民,那么他/她将在土耳其缴税。如果出于税收目的将外国国民视为土耳其居民,则他/她将必须在土耳其纳税。 如果外国公民获得了合法的土耳其居留权,或者在任何一个纳税年度中在土耳其居住超过六个月,则出于税收目的,这些外国国民将被视为土耳其居民。 这就是为纳税目的建立居住地的“六个月”规则。 如果将外国国民视为土耳其居民,则无论其收入来自何处,都将被要求对其收入纳税。 换句话说,出于税收目的在土耳其居住的外国国民必须为其全球收入纳税。
  2. 如果出于税收目的不将外国国民视为土耳其居民,则他/她将仅对通过土耳其境内的业务运营或土耳其的房地产所有权获得的收入在土耳其纳税。 这称为有限纳税人身份。 纯粹为了履行公职或任命而在土耳其停留六个月以上的居民,例如外交官等,也被视为有限纳税人。 并非土耳其居民的大多数土耳其度假屋业主都属于此类。 这意味着他们仅需对出租土耳其度假屋和/或投资获得的收入纳税。

与其他欧洲国家相比,土耳其的房地产税(不论居留权,所有人都应缴纳)非常低。 如果您正在考虑在土耳其购买房地产投资,则需要了解在土耳其如何征收税款。 您还需要将土耳其的房产税与其他海外房地产市场进行比较。 让我们看一下土耳其和其他一些欧洲国家的财产税制度。

土耳其的房地产税可以分为三个明确的领域


1. 
首先,当不动产变更所有权时,应缴纳的税款(印花税)。 登记业权契据时应缴税。 该税相当于房地产“申报金额”的4.4%,并由交易双方以相等的金额支付。 但是,必须强调的是,印花税通常是购买谈判的一部分,而卖方往往会将全部责任推给买方。 因此,实际上,购买者要支付所申报财产的4.4%。

注意:财产的申报金额与购买价值不同。 买卖双方几乎总是低估其财产价值,以减轻印花税和资本利得税的影响。 土耳其税务机关比这更了解这一点,因此他们测试“合理的声明”。 如今,土耳其收入已将购买价值的50-60%视为合理的价格,因此不会受到质疑。 但是,如果您在土耳其购买房地产,而卖方坚持申报的价格非常低(例如少于30%),则在同意该价格之前,请寻求法律意见,因为申报价格过低可能会受到土耳其税务部门的质疑。

2. 在土耳其还应缴纳年度财产税 这类似于在英国和美国缴纳的市政税,但金额却少得多。 该税通常为财产价值的0.6%至1%。 这就是说,如果您以200,000欧元的价格在土耳其购买物业,而价值估计为120,000欧元,那么一年中您将支付的最高金额约为1,000欧元。

土耳其的财产税占总额的一部分

3. 土耳其还将对房地产收入征税,其中包括外国房地产投资者从出售房地产和出租其在土耳其的财产中获得的收入(利润)。 税率从15%到30%不等。 截至本文截稿之时,如果将收入重新投资到其他财产,土耳其将不提供免除所得税的优惠。 居民和非居民都应缴纳的与房地产相关的收入税,分为以下两个主要类别

a.       出售财产和财产获得的利润的资本利得税

b.       对财产所得的税收,例如租金收入

资本收益是指出售财产等资产时获得的利润。收益的计算方法是出售的物业的“申报金额”与购买的物业的“申报金额”之差。举例说明-如果您在2010年以100,000欧元的价格在土耳其购买了度假屋(当时在契据转让时声明的印花税金额为60,000欧元),并在2013年以130,000欧元的价格出售了(宣告的销售金额为80,000欧元),则您已宣告实现了20,000欧元的销售利润,作为申报金额之间的差额。这是您的资本收益,作为非土耳其居民,您将有责任为此收益纳税,因为这是在土耳其产生的收入。因此,您需要支付20,000欧元的税款。支付等级起价为6,000土耳其里拉,低于此水平的资本收益无需纳税。最高40,000里拉的平均税率约为23%,高于35%则更高。因此,如果您在2013年的唯一收益是这20,000欧元,那么在每年免税和较低税率范围之后,您最终将需要支付大约3,800欧元,平均约为19%。

为进行仔细的税收筹划,请注意,拥有5年后,资本利得税降至零(无需支付)。 这就是说,如果您在土耳其拥有财产不少于5年,则根本无需缴纳资本利得税。

租金收入税类似于资本利得税。 您从土耳其房地产获得的收入,在扣除诸如维修和某些损耗等收入的可允许支出之后,成为应纳税额。 此金额再次受到年度免税额的限制,此后,对于超过40,000里拉的净收入,税率范围从15%开始提高到35%。

土耳其所得税与其他欧洲国家相比如何?

比较租金收入税

相比之下,俄罗斯不是一个应视为对房东友好的国家。驱逐只能在未付款6个月后发生,即使那样也不容易。另外,无论租赁期限如何,俄罗斯承租人都可以在三个月前终止租赁。

此外,外国房地产投资者对所有收入均需缴纳30%的高额所得税,且无可用扣除额。如果您在主要城市以外的地区购物,您还将支付最高1.5%的土地税和最高2.2%的财产税,税率则稍低。

 奥地利,作为非居民,您将支付高额的财产税。您还需要提防计划在不到十年的时间内出售物业的额外税费,因为资本收益将按与常规收入相同的25-30%的税率征税,但是您不会减少费用扣除打击。

法国具有与租金收入相关的不寻常税法。您将要支付的税款有一个明显的差异,该差异仅取决于您是租用带家具的还是不带家具的财产。如果您被视为法国的“专业”房东,您可能还会受到惩罚。

巴拿马,外国投资者必须回避避免对不动产征收增值税。 还有一项财产税会根据财产的现值增加。

成为房东最糟糕的地方可能是意大利 房东对租金收入征收23-43%的税,加上居住权将使您对全球收入征税。

但是,在对房东征收生活税的主要国家/地区中,瑞士并不想被忽略。 您将被该瑞士木屋的租金收入征收54.5%的税。 哎哟。


有些国家的财产税和地主税略低,但由于内乱,政治问题或国家经济挑战,许多国家都不是一个好的选择。 希腊就是一个很好的例子。 尽管目前的财产税和所得税税率低于土耳其,但希腊尚未找到稳定的国家金融体系,任何解决方案都可能在财产所有者和房东的支持下进行。

显然,您应该在投资外国房地产之前先做功课,但土耳其的房地产应以其低廉的财产税和所得税,较高的财产价值增长率以及对外国财产拥有的最低限度的障碍而位居榜首。

房地产咨询

期房优惠15%以上

成为第一个知道的人,请在下面注册

For Lifestyle and Investment

enquire about
0 properties
Click here to enquire list
PropertyUK Website
PropertyUK Website

Tax and Turkish real estate

Income tax liability in Turkey depends on residency.  If you are regarded as Turkish resident, then you will be liable to pay income tax in Turkey.  If you are not Turkish resident, then you are not liable to pay taxes in Turkey except for tax on earnings derived in Turkey such as real estate taxes (see below).

Are foreign nationals liable to INCOME tax in Turkey?

This will again depend on residency status of a foreign national.  Therefore the following rules applyShould you pay tax in Turkey?

  1. If a foreign national is regarded as resident in Turkey for tax purposes, then he/she will have to pay tax in Turkey.   Foreign nationals will be deemed Turkish resident for tax purposes if they have acquired legal Turkish residency or if they live in Turkey more than six months in any one tax year.  This is known as the ‘six-months’ rule for establishing residency for tax purposes.  If a foreign national is deemed as resident in Turkey, then he/she will be required to pay taxes on his/her income no matter where that income arises.  In other words, a foreign national, who is resident in Turkey for tax purposes is required to pay tax on his/her global income.
     
  2. If a foreign national is not regarded as Turkish resident for tax purposes, then he/she will only pay tax in Turkey on income that is earned through business operations in Turkey or real estate ownership in Turkey.  This is called limited tax-payer status.   Residents, who stay in Turkey more than six months purely in order to undertake an official duty or appointment, such as diplomats and the like, are also regarded as limited tax-payers.   Most Turkish holiday home property owners, who are not residents in Turkey fall into this category.  This means they are only liable to tax on income derived from renting out their Turkish holiday homes and/or investments.       


Turkish real estate taxes (payable by all irrespective of residency) are very low when compared to other European countries.  If you are considering purchasing property investments in Turkey, you’ll want to understand how taxes are levied in Turkey.  You’ll also want to compare Turkish property taxes with other overseas real estate markets.  Let’s look at the property tax system in Turkey and some other European nations.

Taxes on real estate in Turkey can be divided into three clear sectors. 

  1. First, there is the tax payable (stamp duty) when a real property changes ownership.  The tax is payable upon registration of title deeds.  This tax is equivalent to 4.4% of the ‘declared amount’ of the real estate and is paid by both parties to the transaction in equal amounts. However, and we must underline this, stamp duty is usually part of the purchase negotiations and the sellers tend to push the entire liability over to the buyers.  Therefore, in reality 4.4% over the declared amount of the property being sold is paid by the buyer. 

    Note: Declared amount of the property is not the same as the purchase value. Sellers and buyers almost always under-declare their property values so as to lessen the blow of stamp duty and capital gains tax where applicable.  Turkish tax authorities are more than aware of this and thus they test for ‘reasonable declarations’.   50-60% of purchase value is nowadays accepted as reasonable by Turkish Revenue and thus not challenged.  However, if you are purchasing real estate in Turkey and the seller insists on a very low declaration (say less than 30%), then seek legal advice before agreeing to it for unreasonably low declarations may be challenged by the Turkish tax authorities.
     
  2.  There is also an annual property tax payable in Turkey.  This is similar to council taxes paid in the UK and US, however, much less in monetary amounts.  This tax is typically between 0.6% and 1% of property value.   This is to say if you purchase a property in Turkey for Euro Property taxes in Turkey as part of total200,000 and value is assessed as say Euro 120,000, then maximum you will pay in a year will be around Euro 1,000.
     
  3. Turkey will also tax income from real estate, including income (profit) that a foreign real estate investor gains from the sale of real estate and from renting out his/her property in Turkey.  Tax rates range from 15% to 30%.  As of the time of this article, Turkey does not offer elimination of the income tax if the income is reinvested into another property.   Taxes on income relevant to real estate, which are payable by residents as well as non-residents, therefore fall into 2 main categories as follows
     
    1. Capital gains tax on the profit made upon sale of property  and
    2. Tax on income derived from the property such as rental income

 

A capital gain is the profit made when an asset such as property is sold.  The gain is calculated as the difference between the ‘declared amount’ of the property on sale and the ‘declared amount’ of the property on purchase.   To illustrate with an example – if you purchased a holiday home in Turkey in 2010 for say Euro 100,000 (and at the time amount declared on title deed transfer upon which you paid your stamp duty was Euro 60,000) and sold it in 2013 for Euro 130,000 (amount declared on sale Euro 80,000), then you have realised a profit on sale of Euro 20,000 as the difference between the amounts declared.  This is your capital gain and as a non-Turkish resident you will be liable to pay tax on this gain for the income has arisen in Turkey.  Therefore, you will pay tax on Euro 20,000.   Paying band starts at Turkish Lira 6,000, capital gains less than this are not taxable.  Up to Lira 40,000 tax rate averages at around 23% and above goes up to 35%.  Therefore if your only gain in 2013 is this Euro 20,000, after annual exemptions and lower rate bands, you will end up paying around Euro 3,800, which averages at around 19%.  

For careful tax planning, please note that capital gains tax drops to zero (nothing payable) after 5 years of ownership.  This is to say if you have owned your property in Turkey for no less than 5 years, then there is no capital gains tax payable at all.  

Tax on rental income is similar to capital gains tax.  The income you generate from your Turkish real estate, after allowable expenses against income such as maintenance and some wear & tear, becomes the taxable amount.  This amount is again subject to an annual exemption amount after which tax brackets start at 15% and rise to 35% for net income in excess of Lira 40,000.      
 

How does Turkish income tax compare to other European countries?

Taxes on Rental income comparedFor comparison, Russia is not a country that should be considered friendly to landlords.  Evictions can only happen after 6 months of non-payment and are not easy even then.  Plus, regardless of the term of a lease, Russian renters can terminate a lease with three months notice.
Further, foreign real estate investors pay a hefty thirty percent income tax on all income with no available deductions.  You’ll also pay a maximum 1.5% land tax and a maximum 2.2% property tax with rates slightly lower if you purchase outside major cities.

In Austria, you’ll pay a stiff property tax increase as a non-resident.  You’ll also want to beware of extra taxes on property you plan to sell in less than ten years as the capital gain will be taxed at the same 25-30% rate as regular income, but you won’t have expense deductions to soften the blow.
 

France has an unusual tax code as it relates to rental income.  There is a notable difference in the tax you will pay that is solely defined by whether or not you rent a furnished or unfurnished property.  You might also be punished if you are considered a “professional” landlord in France.

In Panama, foreign investors have to duck to avoid the VAT tax on immovable property.  There is also a property tax that increases based on the current value of the property.

Perhaps the worst place to be a landlord is Italy.  Landlords are spanked with a 23-43% tax on rental income, plus residency will cost you a tax on your global income. 

But, Switzerland doesn’t want to be ignored when it comes to the list of top countries for taxing the life out of landlords.  You’ll enjoy a 54.5% tax on rental income for that Swiss chalet.  Ouch.
 

There are countries with modestly lower property and landlord taxes, but many would not be a good choice, due to civil unrest, political problems or national economic challenges.  Greece is a good example.  Although the current rates for property and income taxes are lower than in Turkey, Greece has yet to find national financial stability and any solution is likely to come on the backs of property owners and landlords.

You should obviously do your homework before investing in foreign real estate, but property in Turkey should be at the top of your list with its low property and income taxes, high property value growth rates and minimal barriers to foreign property ownership.


Recommended Properties

Share
0 0