EN AR ZH

入欧盟谈判和土耳其房地产价格

Updated: 11 December 2013 Created: 11 December 2013

土耳其早在1963年就开始申请加入欧盟(EU),当时土耳其已经是欧洲经济共同体(EEC)的准成员国。1987年,土耳其再次申请成为欧盟正式成员国,而直到2005年欧盟与土耳其的谈判才正式开始。

欧盟土耳其谈判和房地产价格

Turkey joining the EU1963年土耳其申请正式成员资格以来,从最初的正式谈判到随后的通过欧盟章程并进行审议和讨论直至最终成为正式成员的全部过程都是一条崎岖不平的道路。并且在土耳其申请入盟的最初几年中,整个90年代以及新千年的头十年的大部分时间,土耳其的舆论都是积极的。

房地产投资者预计,由于欧盟谈判期间采取了积极措施,房地产价格将急剧上涨,而当进展不顺利时,情况恰恰相反。 在加入欧盟之前从东欧国家的房地产投资中受益的外国投资者自然提出了一个问题-土耳其房地产市场是否会遵循类似的模式,我们如何才能从土耳其预期加入欧盟中受益?

欧盟谈判如何影响土耳其的房地产价格?


David Cameron tucks into Turkish Kebab自从
1987年土耳其申请正式加入欧盟以来,欧盟的谈判有很多停顿和重启。一些欧盟成员国强烈反对土耳其加入成为正式成员,而有些则似乎表示支持(英国的戴维·卡梅伦表示支持)。而现在,大多数土耳其人倾向于不受欧盟谈判消息的影响。 他们对这个过程已经失去了信心。 土耳其最近进行的民意调查显示,几乎50%的土耳其人对欧盟的加入漠不关心,甚至有些人认为如果不加入欧盟,土耳其会更好。 因为,没有明显的迹象可以推断东欧国家的房地产价格变动,即获得欧盟正式成员国资格并即将加入欧盟的国家,其房地产价格突然上涨。

外国投资者对土耳其的看法也可以这样说。 2007年以来,我们看到外国投资者在土耳其收购住宅和商业房地产的数量稳步增长。这无疑助长了土耳其的房地产价格,尤其是在伊斯坦布尔等大城市。 这一趋势与欧盟地区和美国2008年信贷紧缩后的经济放缓相吻合。 因此可以说,尽管有欧盟,土耳其的房地产价格和外国直接投资依旧在增长,并且一些机智的投资因为土耳其被排除在欧元区之外,而将其视为投资的避风港

总之,吸引投资者到土耳其投资并推高价格的根本原因与欧盟谈判无关,而与土耳其的经济扩张和稳定增长有关。 可以说,土耳其作为一个可行的投资目的地,其吸引力现在已经超出了加入欧盟的期望。

埃尔多安政府采取更专制的措施对投资产生了什么影响?


这本身就是一个悖论。
 在国内,几年前发生的盖兹公园示威活动证明,土耳其社会的某些阶层对埃尔多安政府明显的专制方式感到不满。 但是,埃尔多安政府特别赞成外国直接投资。 私有化的速度也从未达到过埃尔多安政府时期这么高的水平。

Erdogan's way or the highway

其次正是埃尔多安政府为外国人可以在土耳其购买房地产开辟了道路以前却不是这样的。 20125月,同一政府废除了互惠法,允许中东国民和前苏联国民在土耳其购买房地产; 这在以前是不允许的

外国投资者在土耳其获得土地和商业房地产的激励政策很多。 因此,尽管埃尔多安政府的专制措施可能吓阻了一些个人的“生活方式”的购买者,但总体而言,政府的举措已对外国机构投资者的海外直接投资和房地产收购水平产生了直接的积极影响。 这些远远超过了可能推迟的个别案例。

谁在土耳其投资,在哪里以及为什么投资?


在土耳其投资的外国投资者概况参差不齐。

土耳其的崛起力量

如果我们按照“生活方式的买家”和“投资者”这两个主要细分进行分析,那么就会出现以下趋势:生活方式的买家通常来自欧洲。 英国、德国、斯堪德纳维亚人和俄罗斯人位居榜首。 生活方式的购买者往往会在土耳其的地中海和爱琴海沿岸购买度假屋和永久性住房,最受欢迎的地区是安塔利亚、费特希耶、博德鲁姆和类似的海滨度假胜地。

购买者的动力仍然是负担得起的价格,较低的生活成本,300天的日照和与家的近距离以及更轻松缓慢的生活节奏。 投资者往往有更大的收获。此外,我们可以看到来自美国、俄罗斯、中东、欧洲的投资者-个人和机构投资者;来自中东国家的大量投资,特别是来自阿联酋、科威特和沙特阿拉伯的大量投资。

这些投资者倾向于偏爱较大的城市,例如伊斯坦布尔和布尔萨。 投资水平不等,从购买住宅到出租,再到对购物中心、酒店和开发房产项目的更大投资。 他们受到土耳其经济扩张和宽松投资框架的激励,投资者可以不受限制地将资金进出土耳其-几乎是投资的天堂。

不在欧元区似乎有所帮助,因为银行法规在报告投资者事务方面并不那么严格,当然还有税收优势。 土耳其是东西方之间的枢纽,这也直接鼓励着投资者。 穿越土耳其的能源管道,邻近欧洲但仍在欧洲之外,与沿其边界的一些石油和能源富裕国家极为牢固的关系,都是促使土耳其成为主要投资枢纽的重要因素。

土耳其与欧盟的关系重要吗?


如今,土耳其与欧盟的关系越来越不重要。
 15年前的说法相比,当时欧盟对土耳其人确实很重要,并且民众强烈希望加入欧盟,如今,土耳其人几乎变得无动于衷。 并且,由于希腊、意大利、西班牙和葡萄牙的经济赤字,大多数土耳其人松了一口气,庆幸土耳其没有加入欧盟。

土耳其与欧盟的关系

另一方面,直到5-6年前,土耳其的贸易量一直在欧盟编制索引,现在这也正在发生改变。 与非欧盟国家(包括中东,俄罗斯,中国和美国)的贸易量正在增加。 土耳其正在朝着更加平衡和更少依赖单一来源的商业模式发展。

欧盟区域仍然是土耳其的第一大进出口伙伴,但是其业务份额却在减少。 另一方面,土耳其现在对中东和前苏联国家(包括一些能源丰富的国家,例如阿塞拜疆)产生重大的文化和社会影响。 土耳其的肥皂剧和流行音乐排行榜是这些国家中收视率最高的节目,换句话说,土耳其已成为这些国家(包括邻国希腊)的“文化”出口国。 土耳其正在全方位扩大势力范围。

土耳其向东还是向西

土耳其现在是向东,向欧盟(EU)还是向内看?


为了回答土耳其是向东、向西还是向内看,了解
土耳其的地理位置非常重要。 土耳其是身份、文化和社会结构的非常丰富多彩的混合体。 可以很容易地将自己与南部欧洲、希腊】意大利、西班牙等国家区分开来,但同时也可以将自己与中东区分开来。 此外,土耳其人可以用母语轻松地与阿塞拜疆人或乌兹别克人交谈。 换句话说,试图将土耳其与东方或西方(欧盟区域)并列放置将简化土耳其的面貌。 土耳其在文化、社会、种族等方面都有所不同,它就像一个“大陆”,而不是一个更加单一的“国家”。

总结一下,欧盟谈判是否会对土耳其房地产市场产生影响,土耳其不是向西方看还是向东方看,绝对也不会向内看,土耳其正在四面八方的传播其影响力,因为这实际上就是土耳其独特地理位置的本质。 随着其势力范围以及经济繁荣向四面八方发展,欧盟变得越来越不重要。 精明的房地产投资者对此深有体会。 他们非常清楚,不能将保加利亚或罗马尼亚与土耳其进行比较。

房地产咨询

期房优惠15%以上

成为第一个知道的人,请在下面注册

For Lifestyle and Investment

enquire about
0 properties
Click here to enquire list
PropertyUK Website
PropertyUK Website

EU negotiations and Turkish property prices

Turkey started flirting with the European Union (EU) as early as in 1963, when it became an associate member of the European Economic Community (EEC). In 1987, Turkey applied for the full EU Turkey negotiations and property pricesmembership of the EU and in 2005 formal EU - Turkey negotiations commenced.  Turkey joining the EU

Since Turkey's official application to full membership in 1963, the route to commencement of formal negotiations and thereafter deliberations and discussions through the EU chapters leading up to full membership have been a rocky one, full of stops and starts.  In the initial years of Turkey's application for membership, throughout the 90's and most part of the first decade of the new millennium, public opinion in Turkey was a positive one.  

Real estate investors expected steep property price increases as positive steps were taken during EU negotiations and the contrary happened when things did not go smoothly. Foreign investors, who benefited from their property investments in the Eastern European countries prior to leading up to their EU accession naturally poised the question - would Turkish property market follow a similar pattern, how can we benefit from Turkey's expected accession to the EU?       


How do the EU negotiations impact property prices in Turkey? 

There have been many stops and starts to EU negotiations since Turkey’s application for full membership in 1987.  Some EU members fiercely oppose Turkey's admission as a full member, whereas some seem to support it (see David Cameron of UK showing support).  Most Turks now tend to be immune to news about EU negotiations. They David Cameron tucks into Turkish Kebabhave lost faith in the process.  A recent opinion poll in Turkey indicates that almost 50% of Turks are indifferent about EU membership and some are of the opinion that Turkey is better off without. Therefore, there is no apparent momentum that would infer movement on property prices as seen in Eastern European countries leading up to full EU membership when property prices rose up due to forthcoming EU membership.  

The same can be said about the way foreign investors view Turkey.  We have seen a steady increase in foreign investors acquiring residential and commercial real estate in Turkey since 2007.  This has certainly fuelled property prices in Turkey, especially in larger cities such as Istanbul.  The trend corresponds with economic slow-down in the EU zone and the US post 2008 credit crunch. It could therefore be argued that property prices and foreign direct investment in Turkey has been increasing despite EU and for the fact that Turkey is being seen as a safe haven for investment as a result of being  out of the Euro zone.  

In conclusion, what draws investors to Turkey and pushes up the prices is not linked at all to EU negotiations but to Turkey’s economic expansion and stable growth.  It could be argued that Turkey’s appeal as a viable investment destination has now outgrown the expectations of EU membership.       
 

What has been the effect of the more authoritarian measures of the Erdogan government been on investment ?

This is a paradox in itself. On the home front some segments of Turkish society are unhappy about the apparent authoritarian ways of Erdogan government as evidenced by the recent Gezi Park Erdogan's way or the highwaydemonstrations.  However, the Erdogan government is exceptionally pro foreign direct investment.  The rate of privatisation has never been as high as under the Erdogan government.  

It is the Erdogan government again that opened the way to foreign nationals being able to purchase real estate in Turkey.  That was not the case earlier.  And in May 2012, the same government abolished the reciprocity law allowing Middle Eastern nationals and ex-Soviet nationals to buy real estate in Turkey; they could not do so before.   

There are many incentives given to foreign investors to acquire land and commercial real estate in Turkey.  Therefore, although the Erdogan government’s authoritarian measures may have deterred some individual 'lifestyle' buyers, on the whole the government’s initiatives have  had a direct positive impact on the level of foreign direct investment and real estate acquisitions by institutional foreign investors. These more than outweigh the individual cases which may have been put off.   
 

Who is investing in Turkey, where and why? 

There is a mixed bunch of foreign investor profiles for Turkey.  

Turkey the rising powerIf we analyse these under two main segments as ‘lifestyle buyers’ and ‘investors’ then the following trend emerges: Lifestyle buyers are generally European buyers.  British, German, Scandinavian and Russians lead the charts.  Lifestyle buyers tend to acquire holiday homes and permanent homes on the Mediterranean and Aegean coasts of Turkey, most popular areas being Antalya, Fethiye, Bodrum and similar seaside resorts.  

Buyers are motivated by still affordable prices, lower cost of living, 300 days of sunshine and proximity to home as well as of course an easier pace of life.  Investors tend to have a broader catch; we see investors from the US, Russia, Middle East, Europe - individual and institutional investors; there is significant investment from Middle Eastern countries particularly from Kuwait, U.A.E, Saudi Arabia.  

These investors tend to favour larger cities such as Istanbul and Bursa.  Investment levels vary from a number of residential buy to lets to larger investments in shopping malls, hotels and development projects. They are motivated by Turkey's economic expansion and easy investment framework, where investors can put money in and out of Turkey without restrictions - almost an investment haven profile.  

Being outside the Euro zone seems to help since banking regulations are not as stringent in terms of reporting of investors’ affairs.  There are certainly tax advantages. Turkey being a hub between East and West also encourages investors. Energy pipelines passing through Turkey, proximity to Europe yet being outside, extremely strong relations with some of the oil and energy rich countries along its borders are all contributory factors  for Turkey’s emergence as a major investment hub.  
 

Does Turkey's relationship with the EU matter?

Turkey’s relations with the EU matter less and less these days.  Compared to say 15 years ago, when EU really mattered for Turks and there was a serious desire to join the EU, nowadays the average Turkey's relationship with EUTurk is almost indifferent.  With economic trouble in Greece, Italy, Spain and Portugal, most Turks breathe a sigh of relief that Turkey is not part of the EU.   

On the other hand, Turkey’s business volume, which was very much EU indexed up until 5-6 years ago, is also shifting now.  Volume of trade with non-EU countries, including the Middle East, Russia, China and US is on the increase.  There is a movement toward a more balanced and less single-source dependent business model in Turkey.  

The EU zone is still Turkey’s number one import/export partner, however, with reducing share of business.  On the other hand, Turkey now has a significant cultural and social impact on the Middle East and former Soviet countries, including some energy rich ones such as Azerbaijan.  Turkish soap operas and pop charts are the most rated programs in these countries, in other words Turkey has become and exporter of ‘culture’ to these countries, including neighbouring Greece.  Turkey is increasing its sphere of influence in all directions.   
 

Is Turkey Looking east or westIs Turkey now looking east, west (EU) or inward?

In order to answer whether Turkey is looking east, west or inwards, it is important to understand the mosaic of Turkey.  Turkey is a very colourful mix of identities, cultures and social structures.  It can easily be identify itself with southern Europe, with countries like Greece, Italy, Spain, yet at the same time it can identify itself with the Middle East. Furthermore, a Turk can easily converse with an Azeri or an Uzbek in their mother tongue. In other words, to try to place Turkey with the east or the west (the EU zone) would be a simplification of what Turkey is.  Turkey, culturally, socially, racially is a bit of everything, it is like a ‘continent’ rather than a more homogeneous ‘country’.   

To sum up the query whether EU negotiations have an impact on Turkey real estate market,  Turkey is not looking west, or east, definitely not inwards, Turkey is looking at all directions because that is in fact the essence of Turkey. As its sphere of influence grows in all directions together with its prosperity, the EU becomes less and less significant. Savvy real estate investors are more than aware of this. They know just too well not to compare say Bulgaria or Romania to Turkey.     
 


Recommended Properties

Share
0 0